Belrose Public School

Excellence, Innovation, Wellbeing

Telephone02 9451 6203

Learning at our school



Belrose Public School prides itself on programs and opportunities for students from Kindergarten to Year 6:

  • Strong academic results
  • Sporting
  • Japanese 
  • Performing Arts 
  • Extracurricular classes or programs

Student learning and each child's wellbeing continues to be our focus at Belrose Public School.

All our staff are highly accomplished teachers who teach to high standards. The professional learning of all our staff builds our teachers' collective capacity and develops a common language across all learning areas. 

We have an 'off limit to student' classroom with a comprehensive Data wall which tracks each child through his/her development of key Literacy milestones. Our meeting times are spent talking about and sharing impactful teaching strategies from Kindergarten to Year 6.

Evidence of learning through student work samples is used in regular, ongoing co-teaching conversations. Teachers collaboratively determine how to broaden their individual and collective instructional repertoire, their descriptive feedback strategies and how they can best design teaching practices to move students forward and beyond expectations.

At Belrose Public School, Literacy and critical thinking skills are across all subject areas. Our balanced literacy instruction supports our students to develop meaning-making skills in all subject areas of Numeracy, Geography/History, Science and Technology.

All teachers are skilful at differentiating their teaching practices to cater for the learning needs of all students within the class. Our comprehensive early intervention programs by our Learning and Support Teacher through our Minilit, Multilit and Macqlit programs ensure that students are not left behind. Learning growth of all our students in all Key Learning Areas is due to our dedicated, professional, caring and supportive staff.

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Related content